feeling swamped

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by AnnaM, Aug 30, 2013.

1. AnnaM

AnnaM Member

Hi I was wondering if anyone out there can give me some feed back on this situation; so I have three teenage children, I am divorced and re partnered. I have a pretty workable r/ship with the Ex and his wife. I am a professional and have done a fair bit of work both on myself and around parenting. So the issue is this, my eldest girl is in the process of recovering from an eating disorder and self harming. She was hospitalised for some time, and during this my ex and I had lots of conversations with the others about the disease and we were extremely mindful of the impact it may have on the others. So earlier this year my son who is just turned 12, was found to be cutting and posting the images. Again promptly The Ex and I got appropriate people involved and he is seeing someone for this issue. So, the real problem, now you've got most of the background, is that my son has these terrible rages and it is impossible to be around him when he gets like this. For eg, I will tell him that his behaviour is making me uncomfortable, he mimics me in a really nasty tone of voice. I will remove myself from the area, like go to my room if he refuses to go to his, and then like the other day he just slammed his soccer ball repeatedly into my bedroom wall from outside. I feel really impotent in these situations, he is too old to smack ( and I don't like to be reduced to that) I can't physically lift him out of the way. I try speaking with his Dad, but He says that our son doesn't do that stuff with him ( we have week about custody), the girls say my son does, but anyway. He can just refuse to go to school, and then the killer shot was the other night he sent me a txt while he was in his room that said "I've always hated you" and the next one was 'go die'. He apologised the next day, but I just feel so overwhelmed by managing these storms, and keeping a weather eye on my middle girl a